Educational Philosophy

 

In order for you to get a better idea of the type of teacher I am and my outlook on teaching, read my philosophy of education below 🙂

“Tell me, and I forget, teach me, and I remember, involve me, and I learn.”

–Benjamin Franklin

As teachers we are in a unique position because we get to educate, inspire, motivate, and mold the future of our country.  Every child is capable of greatness, but understanding your students’ strengths, weaknesses, interests, fears, and background is essential.  My goal is to create lifelong learners with a passion for knowledge and a driving inner force that fuels their ambition to improve. Instilling this thirst and desire to know more is essential.  However, this cannot be accomplished without having a shared enthusiasm to learn.  An energetic, positive, dynamic teacher who genuinely loves teaching will spark curiosity and jumpstart motivation.  This enthusiasm will lead to a more engaged classroom with fewer discipline issues, and better results.  Ultimately, I want my students to love learning and continuously want to learn!

In order to establish a classroom of self-motivated students, my primary role in the classroom must be to coach and facilitate student learning.  To be college and career ready, collaboration, communication, and creativity are crucial. An influential researcher and theorist, Jean Piaget stated, “The principal goal of education is to create men and women who are capable of doing new things, not simply repeating what other generations have done.”  Similarly, Jerome Bruner’s theoretical framework stressed that learning is an active process in which learners construct new ideas or concepts based on their current or past knowledge.  Therefore, both Piaget and Bruner’s constructivist theories about discovery learning and the idea that children learn best through doing, and actively exploring, is one that continues to encourage my own teaching practices.  Furthermore, the Universal Design for Learning (UDL) is a framework that addresses inquiry-based learning, flexibility in the curriculum, individualized learning, discovery, and focuses on the process of learning versus the outcome or end product.  As an educator, I strive to ensure that my students are well-educated and prepared for the real world in the 21st century and these principles improve and optimize teaching and learning for all students!

I believe it is important as an educator to revolutionize the way we teach by embracing technology in a meaningful way.  Technology can stimulate and engage learners, resulting in increased confidence, productivity, creativity, and authentic knowledge gains. To make authentic connections with students, we must change our strategies to fit this new age of students. With the resources available today for use in the classroom, such as interactive software, digital imaging, audio and video creation tools, on-demand video libraries, computers and LCD projectors, and Web 2.0 tools, the hardest job may be choosing which tool to use and how to integrate it into the classroom. It is the greatest time in history to be in a classroom because learning technology is changing at an exponential rate, and our students can thrive with it.  It is a crucial time to being looking at what is truly driving change in the 21st century classroom: the students.  As a teacher I plan to not only learn from my students and the professionals around me, but keep up to date on new innovations and incorporate them in my classroom to improve my educational strategies.  Today’s generation is immersed in the rapidly changing world of technology so I must be too.  Although ambitious, I strive to do more than just make a difference and change the lives of my own students; I want to change the face of education!

 

Leave a Reply

